The Honorable Popcorn

Is there a word for someone who has all the ambition but none of the motivation? I have about four or five draft posts that I cannot seem to sit down and- let’s be honest here- perfect. There are so many things I want to share with you! And I will get to it once I stop looking at sales online.

My dieting app actually just popped up to tell me “life rewards action, not intention.” That was super creepy.

On to the point: popcorn. Delicious, nutritious popcorn. Not the Alzheimer’s-in-a-bag variety. I am surprised at how many people do not make popcorn on the stovetop. The time it takes to make a batch on the stovetop isn’t much longer than the time it takes to watch a microwave for three minutes. And a little bit of creativity goes a long way.

I have a system to my popcorn. For two ravenous people, I use about 1/3 cup kernels, 1 Tablespoon butter, 1/2 Tablespoon sauce, a sprinkle, and a flair. Let me explain:

Special Spicy Popcorn

Special Spicy Popcorn

1/3 cup kernels
1 Tablespoon butter
1/2 Tablespoon Hot Bistro Oil (this is the sauce)
Garlic Salt (this is the sprinkle)
Grated or shaved parmesan (this is the flair)

Remember, I’m not one for recipes, so this can be fudged of course. Pour some (eehhh…let’s say one or two Tablespoons) oil in a saucepan. I like olive oil because it doesn’t stink when it’s hot. Put three kernels in the oil, top the saucepan with a lid and heat to medium-low (I put it on 3 1/2 on my 6-level gas stovetop). When all three test kernels have popped, dump in the rest of them, give it a shake and get to melting that butter. Keep shaking the popcorn every fifteen to twenty seconds. Once the butter is melted, add the Hot Bistro Oil and parmesan and stir until incorporated. Keep shaking the popcorn, and if you’re a perfectionist like me, try to keep it on the heat until all kernels have stopped popping (it’s a game!). Immediately dump it into your popcorn bowl and while tossing with a butter knife, pour the sauce over it. Sprinkle with garlic salt. Eat.

Special Spicy Popcorn in a bowl

Nothing but popcorn goes in the yellow Popcorn Bowl in my home.

I’ll share other popcorn recipes as I make them. As long as I remember to take pictures. Oh, and now is a great time to buy sandals online, FYI.

One response

  1. […] now that the “Srirachapocalype” seems unlikely. You may wantto see my original post The Honorable Popcorn for details on how I make my popcorn, but I am confident you can figure it out […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

