Special Sriracha Popcorn

Here’s another popcorn recipe for your tasting pleasure!

It’s probably safe to post a recipe involving Sriracha now that the “Srirachapocalype” seems unlikely. You may wantto see my original post The Honorable Popcorn for details on how I make my popcorn, but I am confident you can figure it out yourself.

sriracha popped

As your 1/3 cup popcorn kernels are a-poppin’ melt 1ish Tablespoon butter. Once it has liquified, add a half Tablespoon Sriracha if your popcorn-snacking partner is sensitive to spicy foods, up to a whole Tablespoon if you plan on eating the entire bowl yourself. Sprinkle sesame seeds into the spicy butter sauce and pour over your popcorn once it’s popped. Sprinkle with garlic salt and some more sesame seeds, if desired. Nom!

Sriracha kernel

My most challenging popcorn flair so far is the sesame seed. Whether I mix in in with the butter or sprinkle it on the popcorn itself, 3/4 of it seems to spill to the bottom. I’ve also tried just adding way more seeds than I think is necessary, and that works somewhat. I’d love some advice on making sesame seeds stick if anyone has it (and if you do, I would also love to hear more about how you became a person with sesame seed advice).

Empty bowl

Ack! Two unsuccessful kernels!

Happy snacking!

One response

Leave a Reply

