Liebster Award: I’ll Play Your Game

06 June8 Liebster

Thanks to Kelsey at The Simple Seamstress for her kind words and bestowing upon me the above emblem. I had to do some investigating to figure out what the award actually is. Supposedly, the Liebster Award is a way for blogs with few followers to get some recognition, gain some more readers, and recognize other new or low-follower blogs. Sopphhey Says gave me as much detail as I needed. Hmm…this concept sounds familiar. As someone who grew up with AOL, I’ve sent out plenty of e-mails with Subject: fwd: fwd: FWD: Fwd: BILL GATES IS SHARING HIS FORTUNE! So, I had to think about whether or not I wanted to rope another 11 bloggers into this with me. Not to mention, my own blog is meant to be a low-pressure creative outlet for myself rather than a way to gain as many “followers” as possible. I just do not have time to disappoint more people.

It is hard for me to resist a good Q&A. So, I will answer the requisite questions, but how about this: Let’s crowd-source this. Commenters (and I have about three!), let me know your favorite blogs with fewer than 200 followers (how do you even find that out anyway?) and hopefully that will get them some traffic without the writers feeling obligated to answer a bunch of questions. Or, if you have your own blog, link to it and answer the below questions. Alright alright alright, let’s get to it.

1. What project taught you the most?

It probably wasn’t sewing at all. When I knitted a sweater vest for my dad, I had only been knitting for a couple of years. This was my most ambitious project yet. I get a lot more perfectionist when I’m making something intended as a gift. The vest was challenging my knitting abilities as well as my capacity for accepting imperfections. The thing about knitting is it’s so easy to see every flaw because you are focusing on every single stitch. You have to remind yourself to step back and try to see it from the giftee’s point of view– The Big Picture. My dad still has the vest and shows it off when he wears it. I like seeing him appreciate something I made. And I no longer see all the things I “did wrong.” I have to remember to do that with my own projects.

2. What is your most favorite project to wear? Why?

My vintage Vogue 9480: always complimented, always fits. Why haven’t I made another one?

3. Where do you feel the most inspired?

Probably online. I can spend way more time than I’m willing to admit scouring blogs, Pinterest, Etsy, whatever. I need to work on moving that inspiration into my craft room more often.

4. How is your perfect cup of coffee or tea prepared?

Coffee- absolutely no sweetener, just a splash of cream. Tea- nothing but the bag.

5. What is the best compliment you have ever received on a project?

I am so awkward with compliments. I guess the best compliment is one of my projects getting someone interested in sewing.

6. What is a project you have been dreaming of doing?

Undies. I’ve wanted to make coats for a long time, but I’m starting to realize I’m not able to put in the effort to make a nice coat (also, I live in Southern California). So I always tell myself to focus on simple projects and undies would let me have fun with all the Spoonflower fabric I covet. I promise I will not model them when I finally make them.

7. What is typically going on in the background while you create? Music? Movies? Radio?

Usually the TLC station on Pandora. Sometimes some instant Netflix on the iPad.

8. Who taught you the most about creativity?

My mom and Pinterest.

9. Favorite quote about creativity?

“Play is the highest form of research.” Attributed to Einstein.

10. What is the best happy accident you have ever had? Ex. A mistake that turned out to be a good thing!

This kind of thing happens all the time, I can’t even begin. If shit goes down, you either figure something out or move on. Although, I do still have and wear The Dress That Almost Made Me Crazy.

11. Why do you create?

Because I can’t not create.

One response

  1. […] I mentioned before, I’ve always wanted to make myself a pair of underroos. And now that my sewing aspirations […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

