Finished Projects: Frankendress and Bunny Hat

Dress collage

Patterns: McCall’s 2401 (top), New Look 6864 (skirt), and McCall’s 6518 (pockets)
Fabric: from Hong Kong

I am pleasantly surprised with the way this dress turned out. Yes, it looks like an incredibly simple dress. But you see, for a recovering perfectionist, even the simplest things can be burdensome.

It feels like a thousand years ago that I bookmarked a sewing blog post of a dress that I otherwise would have looked over. So I bought the pattern and finally got around to making one for myself. I returned to the blog and, lo and behold, it was Tilly of Tilly and the Buttons fame that inspired me so long ago (long ago=2010).

When I cut this dress out, I had no intention of making a frankendress. But, I was woefully underwhelmed with how it was turning out as I was trying it on. Sorry not sorry I don’t have any pictures to share. I usually sew unshowered and in my underwear. Decidedly not modeling time.

07 July19 red belt

You should know by now that I do not make muslins. When fitting issues arise, I put my project down and pout for a few days while I figure out what to do. Of course, that usually leads to a million fixes and I can’t decide which one is right. Someone suggested to me that I just fuck with it. Maybe I’ll fail, maybe I won’t. Warily, I cut the dress in half. I added the skirt and waistband from New Look 6864, removed the waistband, lined the dress and now I love it. And it’s done. Hurray for me.

Belt-wise, it’s very versatile.

07 July19 plum belt

07 July19 zipper

The invisible zipper isn’t so invisible, but I am ok with that. Moving away from perfectionism.

IMG_0525

Yarn: Caron Simply Soft in White and Soft Pink
Pattern: Pikadilly Charm via Pinterest

Two of my friends are having babies this summer and I am so excited to be able to use the baby projects I’ve pinned on Pinterest. If you did not click on the link to Pikadilly Charm above, please do that now because the baby pictured is hilarious. “I know you’re laughing at me because of this ridiculous hat on my head, but you feed me so I will oblige.” I hope the same face will be made when this hat gets worn.

Like boob hats, bunny hats crochet up fairly easily. Unlike the sweater I’ve been knitting for over a year and maybe one day will be featured on this blog.

2 responses

  1. Hi, my name is Anne and I also do not muslin. I feel like Im in fine company, tho sad that you arent wearing the bunny hat….

    Like

  2. If only my head were small enough. I can’t say I didn’t try.

    Like

Leave a Reply

