Finished Projects: Adult Monster Booties and Adult Ear Warmers

01 Jan 9 slippers collage

Pattern: Nola’s Knitted Slippers via The Seaman’s Church
Yarn: Purl Essence Angel Hair in Lime and Lime Stripe

01 Jan 9 ear warmer collage

Pattern: People Webs
Yarn: Cascade Yarns 220 Superwash in
811 Como Blue

You may or may not have noticed, but I have not posted in approximately two months. I find it funny when blogs I frequent apologize for not posting for six weeks and I haven’t even noticed they were gone. Short of Smitten Kitchen, I’m pretty sure most people follow an RSS feed of many blogs and not necessarily One Almighty Blog. SO I WILL NOT APOLOGIZE FOR BEING TWO MONTHS ABSENT.

That being said, it is good to have a But to fall back on (see what I did there?).

BUT, I moved. I have returned to the Motherland. Seattle, my No Place Like Home. FINALLY, as a dear friend of mine told me today. And while adventure, reinvention, and the familiar are fine and all, wifi has been spotty and relegated to such endeavors as Getting a More Consistent Wifi.

Plus, living in an apartment for two weeks with no furniture and sleeping on an air mattress (the movers “might” come tomorrow) does not instill in me a Seize The Day attitude.

Regardless, I have some low-effort-required projects to share!

01 Jan 9 slippers colorsYes the slippers are two different colors! I didn’t think “Lime” and “Lime Stripe” would be so different, but oh well. As I was told by the main wearer (read: Emily), “monsters’ feet don’t match perfectly in real life, so they’re actually realistic.” Righty-o.

01 Jan 9 slippers top

If you understandably did not make the connection, these are the adult version of last post’s monster booties. Apparently it only takes five “I WANT MONSTER BOOTIES” to cause me to give in to a significant other’s wishes.

01 Jan 9 slippers

And as I was thinking it would take me even more thinking to adjust the booties pattern to a more mature size, I come across The Seaman’s Church on Pinterest (that is not a sentence I ever expected to make in my life). I present the adult-sized booties. I plan on making a pair for myself.

01 Jan 9 slippers claws

Crazy easy pattern. Knit all flat, one seam to sew up along the bottom and back-center. Definitely recommended for beginners– especially knitters with sock ambitions (I don’t even. Should I not be blogging after midnight?).

01 Jan 9 ear warmers

My ears are fairly cold-sensitive and adjusting to more northern temperatures. So, with the increase in earaches comes crochet motivation.

01 Jan 9 ear warmers bow

I believe the pattern is another Pinterest find. I probably could have made this in an afternoon, but ended up finishing it in about three sittings.
01 Jan 9 ear warmers front

My mom & sister just took a crochet class and I told them I’d pass along the pattern because I think it would be good practice.
01 Jan 9 ear warmers profile

I guess I don’t have much else to say about that. You should try it!

Happy to be back to writing!

3 responses

    1. Why do adults have to give up on warm booties? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. […] much more to say here than what I said the first time I made these. I do have to say the marled look was not the original plan and instead a happy result […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

